This year, I was determined to look at my New Year’s resolutions differently. Instead of a somewhat random list of things I hoped to accomplish in the next year, I decided to make more of a to-do list. By keeping my list small and manageable, I figure that I can easily stick to it.

So, here’s my 2013 To-Do List.

1. I will buy less processed foods. With a family of six that includes two teenage boys with  seemingly bottomless stomachs (or tapeworm, I’m not sure), it’s easy to go to Costco and stock up on a lot of junk. And truthfully, that’s what I often do. But I’m not doing anyone a favor when I come home with 96 bagel pizzas, 130 chicken nuggets, or 48 bags of chips. Instead, I’m going to get more fresh fruit and veggies and have snacks pre-made for them when they get home from school. Today, I’ve got carrots and hummus at the ready. I think their inherent laziness will overcome their desire for junk food, but we’ll see!

2. I will walk anywhere that is less than a mile from home. Over the past few months, I’ve successfully lost a significant amount of weight. While a healthier diet is part of the reason, it’s also because I walk my daughter to and from preschool every day. It comes out to about two miles total, and those calories burned add up quickly! I figure that if I expand my walking even more, I’ll lose even more weight! Not to mention the good I’ll be doing for the environment by leaving the car at home.

3. I will finally get that mammogram. Last year I reached the magical age that woman reach where it becomes necessary to start getting regular screenings. I didn’t get around to it last year but I’m not going to put it off anymore. I want to be around for my kids and it’s not a big deal, anyway!

4. Ditto for a colonoscopy. Eek. I don’t even like typing the word!

5. I will start saving for our honeymoon.  When my husband and I got married five years ago in the fall, my teacher’s schedule, saving for our house, paying for the wedding, and my children from my first marriage precluded a honeymoon. We keep saying we’re going to do it, but now that we’ve added two more children to our family, we really need to make it a priority. Making time for ourselves in general needs to be a priority in 2013! But in the meantime, I’ve got my honeymoon coin jar started.

6. I will do a random act of kindness every day. So far, it’s been small things: wiping snow off a car in a parking lot with a baby on board sign, bringing in my neighbor’s recycling bin. But that’s the point: do a random small thing anonymously every day just because. I don’t want someone to thank me, or to do something for me. I just want to do something to help make someone else’s life a little bit easier. It makes me feel better.

7. I’ll call my parents once a week.  Sure, we keep in touch via email and texts but there’s nothing like the human voice.  And it makes my mom happy to hear from me, so it’s the least I can do for the woman who gave birth to me!

So that’s it. That’s my list for 2013. What’s yours?

